Burglar Alarm Ordinance

 

           
Appeals Failure To Pay Fine False Alarm Defined False Alarm Fines General Rules Intentional Alarms
Paying Fines          

Town of Fairfield Town Ordinance Chapter 46

For the complete ordinance, along with definitions, refer to the complete Town ordinance. The following is provided for informational purposes only.

The Fairfield Police Department responds to numerous false burglar alarms every day. This ties up manpower and resources that could be used in other ways. In order to reduce the number of false alarms the following ordinance was enacted.

General Rules

Alarm systems must be installed by a person licensed (per Building and Electrical Codes of the State of Connecticut). (violators may be subject to $99.00 fine)

No alarm system will be installed without a permit from the Town of Fairfield Building Official.

Automatic dialing services coming directly into the communications center of the Police Department are prohibited. (violators may be subject to $99.00 fine)

Timing Devices: No alarm system which produces an exterior audible sound shall be installed unless its operation is automatically deactivated after no more than fifteen (15) minutes of operation. (violators may be subject to $99.00 fine)

Auxiliary Power: Alarm systems shall have their own auxiliary rechargeable power source that meets or exceeds UL standards of at least four (4) hours duration. (violators may be subject to $99.00 fine)

False Alarm Defined: The activation of an alarm system to which the Police Department responds and which is not caused by a criminal act or other emergency. This does not include the activation of an alarm by circumstances normally attributed to extreme weather conditions or a prolonged power outage of four (4) or more hours.

 

False Alarms: 

  • Third False Alarm (in a fiscal year): The owner/user will be sent a letter informing them that any further issuance of false alarms will incur a penalty and warning the alarm owner/user that the alarm system should be inspected and the Police Department notified of corrective action taken.
  • Fourth False Alarm (in a fiscal year): fine of $35.00.
  • Fifth through Seventh False Alarm (in a fiscal year): $50.00 each.
  • More than Seven False Alarms (in a fiscal year): $99.00 each.

Failure to pay such charges within thirty (30) days shall constitute a violation of this chapter, and the alarm owner/user is subject to an additional $99.00 fine.

 

Intentional False Alarms: 

Anybody who intentionally activates any alarm system when no police emergency exists shall be fined $99.00 and when applicable may additionally be subject to prosecuted under Connecticut General Statutes for falsely reporting an incident.

No person shall intentionally test, repair, adjust, alter or perform maintenance on an alarm system, or case the same to be tested, repaired, adjusted, altered or maintained, if such action results in a false alarm, without first notifying the Police Department and/or monitoring company. A violation of this section will be issued one (1) warning. For the second offense the person shall be fined $99.00.

 

Appeals

A person charged for a false alarm may, within thirty (30) days of imposition appeal the charge by filing a written notice of appeal with the Police Department. The hearing will be conducted by a hearing officer (appointed by the First Selectman).

Violations and Penalties

 

Paying Fines

Fines may be paid at Police Headquarters during normal business hours (8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.) or through the mail.

 

Failure to Pay Fines

If any person fails to pay within thirty (30) days any fine or charge imposed, interest shall accrue at the highest rate allowed by law. If, after a period of three (3) months, the person fails to pay, the matter will be turned over to the Town Attorney for any legal action necessary for collection.